Which Maharaja served as BCCI president: Click to know more

Which Maharaja served as BCCI president: The Maharaja of Vizianagaram was the first Indian cricketer to serve as President of the Board of control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Maharaja of Vizianagaram, who led India in a Test tour to England in 1936.

Which Maharaja served as BCCI president: Maharaja of Vizianagaram was the first Indian cricketer to serve as President of the Board of control for Cricket in India (BCCI).
Maharaja of Vizianagaram was the first Indian cricketer to serve as President of the Board of control for Cricket in India (BCCI).


Who was Maharaja of Vizianagaram?

Pusapati Vijaya Ananda Gajapathi Raju (28 December 1905 – 2 December 1965), better known as the Maharajkumar of Vizianagram or Vizzy, was an Indian cricketer, cricket administrator and politician.

Pusapati Vijaya Rama Gajapathi Raju, the ruler of Vizianagaram in present-day Andhra Pradesh, had Vizzy as his second son. This is why he is known as Maharajkumar (Prince). Vizzy relocated to the family estates in Benares after his father died in 1922 and his eldest brother became king. He married the eldest daughter of the king of Kashipur’s zamindari estate.

He went to Mayo College in Ajmer and Haileybury, as well as the Imperial Service College in England. He was an accomplished tennis and cricket player, as well as a hunter.


On 1926, Vizzy formed a cricket team and built a stadium on his castle grounds. He brought in players from India and outside. When the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) abandoned its trip of India in 1930-31 due to political issues, he formed his own team and toured India and Ceylon. He was successful in drafting Jack Hobbs and Herbert Sutcliffe for the team, a significant accomplishment given Hobbs’ refusal of five such tours previously. A few years later, Vizzy welcomed Learie Constantine to India. When Mushtaq Ali was still in high school, he brought him to Benares for training.

“If Vizzy had been satisfied with being such a cricket sponsor,” Mihir Bose writes in A History of Indian Cricket “His name would be one of the most revered in Indian cricket, like Sir Horatio Mann in the eighteenth century or Sir Julien Cahn in the twentieth.” But he was overwhelmed by the desire to be a great cricketer.”

The planning of the 1930-31 trip elevated Vizzy to second only to the Maharaja of Patiala in Indian cricket.[7] Around this time, Patiala had a falling out with Lord Willingdon, the viceroy of India, and Vizzy became close to him. In the freshly completed Feroz Shah Kotla field in Delhi, he presented a pavilion named after the viceroy. When the national competition began in 1934, he sought to present a gold ‘Willingdon trophy,’ but Patiala outdid him with his Ranji Trophy.

Despite his lack of cricketing ability, his wealth and relationships gave him significant influence in Indian cricket. He offered the board fifty thousand rupees in the early 1930s, forty thousand of which was for the Indian tour of England in 1932. He was named ‘deputy vice captain’ for the tour but withdrew for health and fitness reasons.

Vizzy kept a modest profile for about two decades after that. He returned to cricket administration as the President of the BCCI from 1954 to 1957. As the BCCI’s vice-president in 1952, he was instrumental in reintroducing Lala Amarnath as the Indian captain. He was effective in raising Uttar Pradesh’s cricket profile, making Kanpur a Test cricket centre. C. K. Nayudu, at the age of 61, captained Uttar Pradesh in the 1956-57 season on his request. He strove to develop cricket in South India and was appointed President of the Mysore Cricket Association. He was the All India Council of Sports’ Vice Chairman.

List of BCCI President

President name Took Office Left office
1. R E Grant Govan 1928 1933
2.  Sikandar Hayat Khan 1933 1935
3. Nawab Hamidullah Khan 1935 1937
4. Maharaja K S Digvijay Singh 1937 1938
5. P Subbarayan 1938 1946
6.Anthony S D’Mello 1946 1951
7.J C Mukherji 1951 1954
8. Maharaj kumar of Vizianagram 1954 1956
9. Sardar Surjit Singh Majithia 1956 1958
10. R K Patel 1958 1960
11. M A Chidambaram 1960 1963
12. Maharaja Fatehsinghrao Gaekwad 1963 1966
13. Z R Irani 1966 1969
14. N Ghose 1969 1972
15. P M Rungta 1972 1975
16. Ramprakash Mehra 1975 1977
17. M Chinnaswamy 1977 1980
18. S K Wankhede 1980 1982
19. NKP Salve 1982 1985
20. S Sriraman 1985 1988
21. B N Dutt 1988 1990
22. Madhavrao Scindia 1990 1993
23. IS Bindra 1993 1996
24. Raj Singh Dungarpur 1996 1999
25.A C Muthiah 1999 2001
26. Jagmohan Dalmiya 2001 2004
27. Ranbir Singh Mahendra 2004 2005
28. Sharad Pawar 2005 2008
29. Shashank Manohar 2008 2011
30.N Srinivasan 2011 2013
31.Jagmohan Dalmiya 2013 2013
32.N Srinivasan 2013 2014
33.Shivlal Yadav 2014 2014
34.Sunil Gavaskar 2014 2014
35.Jagmohan Dalmiya 2015 2015
36.hashank Manohar 2015 2016
37.Anurag Thakur 2016 2017
38.C K Khanna 2017


Also Read: Manchester City become the FIFA World Cup champions for 2023


Leave a Comment